OAH Home Donate to OAH Member Login Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Avery O. Craven Award

The deadline for the 2015 award has passed. Information on the next award to be given in 2016 will be available summer 2015.


Avery O. CravenThe Avery O. Craven Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the most original book on the coming of the Civil War, the Civil War years, or the Era of Reconstruction, with the exception of works of purely military history. The exception recognizes and reflects Craven's Quaker convictions. Avery O. Craven was president of the OAH 1963–1964.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2014.

The award will be presented at the 2015 OAH Annual Meeting in St. Louis, Missouri, April 16–19.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2015 Avery O. Craven Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions by October 1, 2014.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2014 and before January 1, 2015. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received no later than January 7, 2015. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Avery O. Craven Award Committee by February 2015. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation, where she or he will receive a cash award and a plaque.

Avery O. Craven Award Committee

Judith Giesberg (Committee Chair)
Department of History
Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova PA 19085

Adam I.P. Smith
For shipping books, please indicate clearly on package that it contains books.
20 Burnham Road
St. Albans
United Kingdom
[Affiliation: University College London]

Jonathan Daniel Wells
After July 1, 2014:
Departments of Afroamerican and African Studies and History
University of Michigan
701 East University, B514
Ann Arbor MI 48109-1245


List of Past Winners