OAH Home Donate to OAH Member Login Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Darlene Clark Hine Award

The deadline for the 2015 award has passed. Information on the next award to be given in 2016 will be available summer 2015.


Darlene Clark HineThe Darlene Clark Hine Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the best book in African American women's and gender history. The award is named for Darlene Clark Hine, a pioneer in African American women’s and gender history and past president of the OAH (2001–2002).

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2014.

The award will be presented at the 2015 OAH Annual Meeting in St. Louis, Missouri, April 16–19.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2015 Darlene Clark Hine Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions by October 1, 2014.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2014 and before January 1, 2015. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received no later than January 7, 2015.

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

The final decision will be made by the Darlene Clark Hine Award Committee by February 2015. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation, where she or he will receive a cash award and a plaque.

Darlene Clark Hine Award Committee

Tiffany M. Gill (Committee Chair)
Department of Black American Studies
417 Ewing Hall
University of Delaware
Newark DE 19716

Daina Ramey Berry
Department of History
University of Texas at Austin
128 Inner Campus Drive, Stop B7000
Austin TX 78712

Ida E. Jones
Howard University
500 Howard Place, NW
Moorland Spingarn/Building #29
Washington, DC 20059

Micki McElya
Department of History
University of Connecticut
241 Glenbrook Road, Unit 4103
Storrs CT 06269

Amrita Chakrabarti Myers
Department of History
742 Ballantine Hall
Indiana University-Bloomington
1020 East Kirkwood Avenue
Bloomington IN 47405-7103


List of Past Winners