OAH Home Donate to OAH Member Login Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Erik Barnouw Award

The competition for the 2014 award is now closed.  Information on the 2015 award will be available summer 2014.


One or two awards are given annually by the Organization of American Historians in recognition of outstanding programming on television, or in documentary film, concerned with American history, the study of American history, and/or the promotion of American history. The award honors the late Erik Barnouw, Columbia University, a historian of the mass media.

Submissions should be self-contained products even though their content may extend across other media platforms (including podcasts and Web sites).

Only films and video programs released January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2013 are eligible for entry.

The award will be presented at the 2014 OAH Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia, April 10–13.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2014 Erik Barnouw Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members and the OAH office listed below. Each committee member and the OAH must receive all submissions by January 10, 2014.

Erik Barnouw Award Committee

Michael W. Flamm (Committee Chair)
Department of History
Ohio Wesleyan University
61 South Sandusky Street
Delaware, OH 43015

Desirée J. Garcia
Arizona State University
School of Transborder Studies
PO Box 876303
Tempe, AZ 85287-6303

Veronica Savory McComb
Assistant Professor of History
Lenoir-Rhyne University
625 7th Avenue NE, Box 7160
Hickory, NC 28601

Please also mail a copy to:
2014 OAH Erik Barnouw Award
Organization of American Historians
112 North Bryan Avenue
Bloomington, IN 47408-4141

The final decision will be made by the Erik Barnouw Award Committee by February 2014. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation, where she or he will receive a cash award and a plaque.


List of Past Winners