OAH Home Donate to OAH Member Login Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Lerner-Scott Prize

The deadline for the 2015 prize has passed. Information on the next prize to be given in 2016 will be available summer 2015.


Anne Firor ScottGerda LernerThe Lerner-Scott Prize is given annually by the Organization of American Historians for the best doctoral dissertation in US women’s history. The prize is named for Gerda Lerner and Anne Firor Scott, both pioneers in women’s history and past presidents of the OAH.

A dissertation must be completed during the period July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014 to be eligible for the 2015 Lerner-Scott Prize.

The prize will be presented at the 2015 OAH Annual Meeting in St. Louis, Missouri, April 16–19.

Application Procedures

Please send an electronic attachment of your complete dissertation to each of the three committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all applications by October 1, 2014.

Each application must also include a letter of support from a faculty member at the degree-granting institution, along with an abstract and table of contents. Please provide e-mail addresses for both the applicant and the adviser, if available.

The final decision will be made by the Lerner-Scott Prize Committee by February 2015. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation, where she or he will receive a cash award and a plaque.

Lerner-Scott Prize Committee

Diana Turk (Committee Chair)
Affiliation: New York University

Marisela R. Chávez
Affiliation: California State University, Dominguez Hills

Thomas Dublin
Affiliation: SUNY Binghamton


List of Past Winners