OAH Home Donate to OAH Member Login Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Liberty Legacy Foundation Award

The deadline for the 2015 award has passed. Information on the next award to be given in 2016 will be available summer 2015.


Inspired by OAH President Darlene Clark Hine’s call in her 2002 OAH presidential address for more research on the origins of the civil rights movement in the period before 1954, the Liberty Legacy Foundation Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the best book by a historian on the civil rights struggle from the beginnings of the nation to the present.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2014.

The award will be presented at the 2015 OAH Annual Meeting in St. Louis, Missouri, April 16–19.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2015 Liberty Legacy Foundation Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions by October 1, 2014.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2014 and before January 1, 2015. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received no later than January 7, 2015. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

The final decision will be made by the Liberty Legacy Foundation Award Committee by February 2015. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation, where she or he will receive a cash award and a plaque.

Liberty Legacy Foundation Award Committee

Bryant Simon (Committee Chair)
Department of History
Temple University
9th Floor, Gladfelter Hall
Philadelphia PA 19122

Kenneth R. Janken
Department of African, African American, and Diaspora Studies
109 Battle Hall, CB #3395
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3395

Kariann Yokota
Department of History
Campus Box 182
University of Colorado, Denver
1201 Fifth Street
Denver CO 80204


List of Past Winners