OAH Home Donate to OAH Member Login Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Louis Pelzer Memorial Award

The deadline for the 2015 award has passed. Information on the next award to be given in 2016 will be available summer 2015.


Louis PelzerThe Louis Pelzer Memorial Award Committee of the Organization of American Historians invites candidates for graduate degrees to submit essays for the Louis Pelzer Memorial Award competition. Essays may deal with any period or topic in the history of the United States. The winning essay will be published in the Journal of American History.

Essays, including footnotes, should not exceed 10,000 words. The electronic version of the essay should be sent to  with “2015 Louis Pelzer Memorial Award Entry” noted in the subject line, and one hard copy should be submitted to the address below. Because manuscripts are judged anonymously, the author’s name and graduate program should appear only on a separate cover page.

The award will be presented at the 2015 OAH Annual Meeting in St. Louis, Missouri, April 16–19.

The winning essay will be published in the Journal of American History.

Significance of the subject matter, literary craftsmanship, and competence in the handling of evidence are some of the factors that will be considered in judging the essays. The deadline for submitting an essay for consideration is December 1, 2014.

Manuscripts should be clearly labeled "2015 Louis Pelzer Memorial Award Entry" and addressed to:

Edward T. Linenthal (Chair, 2015 Louis Pelzer Memorial Award Committee)
Executive Editor, OAH/Editor, Journal of American History
Journal of American History
1215 East Atwater Avenue
Bloomington IN 47401

The final decision will be made by the Louis Pelzer Memorial Award Committee by February 2015. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation, where she or he will receive a cash award and a plaque.

Committee members for the 2015 award are:

Edward T. Linenthal, Executive Editor, OAH; Editor, Journal of American History (Committee Chair)
Susan Brewer, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Randall M. Miller, Saint Joseph’s University
Margot Minardi, Reed College
Shelley Lee, Oberlin College


List of Past Winners