OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize in U.S. Women's and/or Gender History

The deadline for the 2017 prize has passed. Information on the 2018 prize will be available summer 2017.


Mary Jurich Nickliss portrait

In 2015, the inaugural Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize in U.S. Women's and/or Gender History was awarded, thanks to a generous gift to endow this prize fund from Alexandra M. Nickliss. The prize is named after Professor Nickliss' mother, Mary Jurich Nickliss, the child of Serbian immigrants, who arrived in the United States in the early twentieth century wave of immigration. Mary Jurich Nickliss always had aspirations of receiving a college education and becoming a career woman but was constrained by historical times. Her dream was realized by her daughter, Alexandra Nickliss, presently an instructor in the Department of Social Sciences at the City College of San Francisco, and a long-time OAH member. This prize acknowledges the generations of women whose opportunities were constrained by the historical circumstances in which they lived.

The Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize is given for "the most original" book in U.S. Women's and/or Gender History.  The OAH defines "the most original" book as one that is a path breaking work or challenges and/or changes widely accepted scholarly interpretations in the field. If no book submitted for the prize meets this criterion, the award shall be given for "the best" book in U.S. women's and/or gender history. "The best" book recognizes the ideas and originality of the significant historical scholarship being done by historians of U.S. Women's and/or Gender History and makes a significant contribution to the understanding of U.S. Women's and/or Gender History.

Each entry must be published during the calendar year preceding that in which the award is given (January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2016).

The prize will be presented at the 2017 OAH Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana, April 6–9.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled "2017 Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize Entry" must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 3, 2016.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 3, 2016 and before January 1, 2017. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be sent to each committee member postmarked no later than January 9, 2017. (Please see "Submission Policy" at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize Committee by February 2017. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation.

Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize Committee

Cornelia H. Dayton (Committee Chair)
Program in Law and Public Affairs
Princeton University
412 Robertson Hall
Princeton NJ 08544
[Affiliation: University of Connecticut]

Cynthia Blair
712 Wisconsin Avenue
Oak Park IL 60304
[Affiliation: University of Illinois, Chicago]

Rebecca L. Davis
221 North Princeton Avenue
Swarthmore PA 19081
[Affiliation: University of Delaware]

Martha S. Jones
University of Michigan
Department of History
1029 Tisch Hall
435 South State Street
Ann Arbor MI 48104

Deborah Weinstein
Brown University
Department of American Studies
Box 1886
150 Power Street
Providence RI 02912


List of Past Prize Winners