OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Merle Curti Social History Award

The deadline for the 2017 award has passed. Information on the 2018 award will be available summer 2017.

Merle Curti

One award is given annually to the author of the best book in American social history. Merle Curti was president of the OAH 1951–1952.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2016.

The award will be presented at the 2017 OAH Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana, April 6–9.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled "2017 Merle Curti Social History Award Entry," must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 3, 2016.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 3, 2016 and before January 1, 2017. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received by each committee member postmarked no later than January 9, 2017. (Please see "Submission Policy" at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Merle Curti Social History Award Committee by February 2017. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation.

Members of the Merle Curti Social History Award Committee

Kelly Schrum (Committee Chair)
Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media
George Mason University
4400 University Drive, MSN 1E7
Fairfax VA 22030

Kathleen A. Brosnan
Department of History
University of Oklahoma
455 West Lindsey Street, Room 403A
Norman OK 73019-2004

Julia Grant, Associate Dean
359 S. Case Hall
Michigan State University
842 Chestnut Road
East Lansing MI 48823

Michael D. Innis-Jiménez
Department of American Studies
The University of Alabama
Box 870214
101 ten Hoor Hall
350 Marrs Spring Rd
Tuscaloosa AL 35487


List of Past Winners