OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Merle Curti Award

The deadline for the 2016 award has passed. Information on the 2017 award will be available summer 2016.


Merle CurtiTwo awards are given annually by the Organization of American Historians: one to the author of the best book in American social history; and one to the author of the best book in American intellectual history.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2015.

The award will be presented at the 2016 OAH Annual Meeting in Providence, Rhode Island, April 7–10.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2016 Merle Curti Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2015.

Please indicate social history or intellectual history for each book submitted.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2015 and before January 1, 2016. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received by each committee member postmarked no later than January 7, 2016. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Merle Curti Award Committee by February 2016. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation.

Merle Curti Award Committee Members

Catherine O'Donnell (Committee Chair)
School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies
Arizona State University
976 South Forest Mall
Tempe AZ 85281

Joan E. Cashin
Department of History
Dulles Hall
Ohio State University
230 West 17th Street
Columbus OH 43210

Kristin Celello
190 Main Street
Cold Spring NY 10516
[Affiliation: Queens College, CUNY]

Christopher Clark
Department of History
Wood Hall
University of Connecticut
241 Glenbrook Road, U-4103
Storrs-Mansfield CT 06269-4103

Kathleen D. McCarthy
Department of History
The Graduate Center, City University of New York
365 Fifth Avenue
New York NY 10016

James Marten
Department of History
Sensenbrenner Hall 202A
Marquette University
1103 West Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee WI 53233


List of Past Winners