OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Ray Allen Billington Prize

The deadline for the 2017 prize has passed. Information on the 2019 prize will be available summer 2017.


Ray Allen BillingtonThe Ray Allen Billington Prize is awarded biennially by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the best book on the history of native and/or settler peoples in frontier, border, and borderland zones of intercultural contact in any century to the present and to include works that address the legacies of those zones. Ray Allen Billington was president of the OAH 1962–1963.

Each entry must be published during the two-year period January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

The prize will be presented at the 2017 OAH Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana, April 6–9.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2017 Ray Allen Billington Prize Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 3, 2016.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 3, 2016 and before January 1, 2017. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be sent to each member of the committee postmarked no later than January 9, 2017. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Ray Allen Billington Prize Committee by February 2017. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation.

Ray Allen Billington Prize Committee

Anne F. Hyde (Committee Chair)
Department of History
University of Oklahoma
455 West Lindsey Street, 403A
Norman OK 73019-2004

Jeff Ostler
Department of History
1288 University of Oregon
Eugene OR 97403-1288

Monica Rico
Department of History
Lawrence University
711 E. Boldt Way
Appleton WI 54911


List of Past Winners