OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Stanton-Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History

Deadline: Submissions must be postmarked/submitted by January 25, 2017

The award recognizes excellence in historical projects for, by, and with the National Park Service, and is intended to honor projects, parks, or programs that make the NPS a leader in promoting public understanding of and engagement with American history. Please share with us exemplary NPS scholarship and community partnerships that encourage civic dialogue in all areas of history. Eligible submissions include digital media; museum exhibits and interpretive trails; preservation programs; and print media, including interpretive materials produced directly for the public, as well as research reports published internally that have had a significant impact on public programming.

The nominated project may have been undertaken by NPS employees entirely within the agency or in collaboration with students, contractors, volunteers, or cooperating institutions, and involve a single national park unit or the National Park Service system. The award citation will recognize the authors, designers, or curators of the project as well as the park superintendents and other NPS managers who provided leadership on its behalf. The OAH will waive annual meeting registration for up to two NPS employees to allow recipients to attend the meeting and receive the award.

Selection will be made by the OAH Stanton-Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History Committee. Please send nominations directly to each of the three committee members listed below. Nominations must include 1) a 1,000 word description and overview of the project; 2) information documenting the extent of the project's public engagement, such as data about the numbers and demographics of the people who participated in onsite programs or may have visited online and engaged in the project beyond its physical presence; 3) the names of NPS employees associated with the project as well as their supervisors at the park or regional level; and 4) two letters of recommendation from individuals or groups familiar with the project but not associated with its planning or implementation.

The postmark/submission deadline for all nomination materials to be sent to award committee members is January 25, 2017. The committee will make its selection by February 2017, at which time the award recipient will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. The award will be presented at the 2017 OAH Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana, April 6–9.

Stanton-Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History Committee

Eola Lewis Dance (Committee Chair)
Regional Cultural Anthropologist
National Capital Region
Ethnography Program
1100 Ohio Drive SW
Washington DC 20242

Dwight T. Pitcaithley
804 Canterbury Arc
Las Cruces NM 88005
[Affiliation: New Mexico State University]

Susan F. Saidenberg
Director of Publications and Exhibitions
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
49 West 45th Street, 6th Floor
New York NY 10036

Deadline: Submissions must be postmarked/submitted by January 25, 2017

List of Past Award Winners