OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Tachau Teacher of the Year Award


The Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau Teacher of the Year Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians in recognition of the contributions made by precollegiate teachers to improve history education within the field of American history. The award, to be given for activities which enhance the intellectual development of other history teachers and/or students, memorializes the career of Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau, University of Louisville, for her pathbreaking efforts to build bridges between university and precollegiate history teachers.

The award will be presented at the 2019 OAH Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 4–6.


Precollegiate teachers engaged at least half time in U.S. history teaching, whether in history or social studies, are eligible.


Successful candidates shall demonstrate exceptional ability in one or more of the following kinds of activities:

Application Procedures


Candidates may be nominated by any person familiar with the nominee’s professional accomplishments or standing.

To nominate a teacher, please send a two-page letter to each of the three committee members describing the candidate’s work and why she or he merits the award, along with the six items listed below under "Submission of Application Packet."


Submission of Application Packet

Applicants should submit one copy of each item listed below, in the order given, to each of the three committee members.

  1. A cover letter written by a colleague indicating why the teacher merits the award (no more than two pages).
  2. Two letters written by former or present students (no more than two pages each).
  3. Curriculum vitae (no more than three pages).
  4. Samples of written work. These submissions should include article reprints, reports by classroom observers, course outlines, research proposals, and/or other evidence of excellence in some or all of the areas mentioned in the “Criteria” section (no more than fifteen pages).
  5. A narrative describing the goals and effects of his/her work in the classroom and elsewhere for history education (no more than three pages).
  6. Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of at least three professional references, including the writer of the cover letter, at least one of whom must be a colleague or supervisor (one page).

The final decision will be made by the Tachau Teacher of the Year Award Committee by February 2019. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. The winner will receive a cash award, a one-year OAH membership, and a complimentary registration for the annual meeting. If the winner is an OAH member, the award will include a one-year renewal of membership in the awardee’s usual membership category.

One copy of each nomination or application (including the items requested above), with “2019 Tachau Teacher of the Year Award Entry” in the subject line, must be e-mailed (PDF) by midnight PST on December 3, 2018, directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all nominations and applications by December 3, 2018.

Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau Teacher of the Year Award Committee

Kevin Yeager (Committee Chair)
[Affiliation: Upper School, Bryn Mawr School for Girls]

Stephen Sullivan
[Affiliation: Lawrence High School (NY)]

Benjamin J. Sacks
[Affiliation: Princeton University]



List of Past Winners