OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

2014 Lewis E. Atherton Prizes

The State Historical Society of Missouri seeks nominations for the Lewis E. Atherton
Prizes, to be awarded to an outstanding doctoral dissertation and master's thesis
on Missouri history or biography. Criteria for selection include originality of subject
matter or methodology, effective use of sources, clarity of style, and contribution to the
understanding of Missouri history.

Nominations must be made by the department that granted the degree, and no more
than two nominations for each prize are accepted annually from a department. For the
2014 prizes, nominees must have completed the doctoral degree or the master's degree
between July 1, 2013, and June 30, 2014.

Three copies of the thesis or dissertation should be mailed to Dr. Gary R. Kremer,
Executive Director, The State Historical Society of Missouri, 1020 Lowry, Columbia, MO
65201-7298. The deadline for receipt is June 30, 2014.

Learn more about the 2014 Atherton Prizes > 

Posted: April 7, 2014
Tagged: Fellowships