OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

2016 Margaret A. Blanchard Doctoral Dissertation Prize

The AJHA Margaret A. Blanchard Doctoral Dissertation Prize, given for the first time in 1997, is awarded annually for the best doctoral dissertation dealing with mass communication history. An honorarium of $500 accompanies the prize, and a $200 honorarium is awarded to each honorable mention.
Eligible works shall include both quantitative and qualitative historical dissertations, written in English, which have been completed between January 1, 2015, and December 31, 2015. For the purposes of this award, a "completed" work is defined as one which has not only been submitted and defended but also revised and filed in final form at the applicable doctoral-degree-granting university by December 31, 2015.

To be considered, nomination packets must include:
(a) One copy of the complete dissertation in hard copy;
(b) One digital copy of the complete dissertation on a CD;
(c) Four copies each of the following items, with all author, school, and dissertation committee identification of any kind whited-out:
(i.) a single chapter from the dissertation [preferably not to exceed 50 manuscript pages, not including notes, charts or photographs],
(ii.) a 200-word dissertation abstract,
(iii.) the dissertation table of contents;
(d) a letter of nomination from the dissertation chair/director or the chair of the university department in which the dissertation was written;
(e) a cover letter from the nominee:
(i.) containing complete (home and work) contact information including postal addresses, phone numbers and e-mail addresses,
(ii.) indicating a willingness, should the dissertation be selected for a prize, both to attend the awarding ceremony and to deliver a public presentation based on the dissertation at the 2016 American Journalism Historians Association Annual Convention 6-8 October 2016 in St. Petersburg, FL.

Note: Regarding Paragraph (c.)(i.) above, as a guide to selecting a chapter for submission, the Award Committee has in the past expressed a preference for a chapter which, if possible, highlights the work's strengths as a piece of primary-sourced original research.
Nominations, along with all the supporting materials, should be sent to: Prof. David Abrahamson, Chair, AJHA Margaret A. Blanchard Doctoral Dissertation Prize Committee, Medill School of Journalism, Northwestern University, 1845 Sheridan Road, Evanston, IL 60208.

The deadline for entries is a postmark date of February 1, 2016.

Posted: May 4, 2015
Tagged: Awards and Prizes