OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Abbott Lowell Cummings Prize

The Abbott Lowell Cummings Prize, named after the founding president of the Vernacular Architecture Forum, is awarded annually to the publication that has made the most significant contribution to the study of vernacular architecture and cultural landscapes. In judging the nominated books, the jurors look for a publication that is:

- based on primary research,
- emphasizes fieldwork,
- breaks new ground in interpretation or methodology, and
- contributes generally to the intellectual vitality of vernacular studies in North America

Entries may come from any discipline concerned with vernacular architecture studies. Books published in the two calendar years prior to the conference year are eligible for consideration. Edited collections are not eligible.

The nomination deadline for the 2016 Cummings Prize is December 15, 2015.

More information is available at: http://www.vafweb.org/Cummings-Prize

There is no application form, but a cover letter should include a complete mailing address, phone number and email address in order to notify the candidate should the nominated work receive the award.

Books should be sent directly by the author or publisher to each of the three committee members for the Cummings Prize. Please contact the committee chair with any questions at cummingsprize@vafweb.org.

2016 Cummings Prize committee:

Jennifer Reut
429 Ethan Allen Avenue
Takoma Park, MD 20912

Prof. Thomas Hubka
7339 SE 31st Ave.
Portland, OR 97202

Janet Ore
History Department
Campus Delivery 1776
Colorado State University

Posted: September 30, 2015
Tagged: Awards and Prizes