OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Call For American Journalism's Next Rising Scholar Award

American Journalism, the flagship journal of the American Journalism Historians Association, seeks applications for its Rising Scholar Award. The application deadline is Monday, June 1, 2015.
The award provides research assistance of up to $2,000 for a junior, untenured faculty member or a media professional who has transitioned within the last four years to full-time work in the academy. The proposed research project must be related to media history, and all methodological approaches are welcomed.

Applicants must be current AJHA members at the time the proposal is submitted. Proposals may be for sole-authored or co-authored work (award amount will be shared).

Applicants must submit the following to Jinx C. Broussard, Manship School of Mass Communications, 205 Hodges Hall, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA 70803, or via e-mail to jinxy@lsu.edu:
• Cover letter with name and contact information for applicant(s).
• Three- to five-page prospectus of the project timeline, describing and explaining the topic, scope, objectives, primary sources, and justifying its contribution to the historiography of the mass media.
• One-page itemized budget. Indicate if additional funding will be used, including the source and amount.
• If appropriate, include Institutional Review Board (IRB) approval from the university.
• A list of possible publication venues for the finished project.
• A letter of support from the applicant's department chair or dean.
• A curriculum vita of no more than three pages.

Founded in 1981, the American Journalism Historians Association seeks to advance education and research in mass communication history. Members work to raise historical standards and ensure that all scholars and students recognize the vast importance of media history and apply this knowledge to the advancement of society. For more information on AJHA, visit ajhaonline.org

Posted: May 4, 2015
Tagged: Awards and Prizes