OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

News in American History

Clio's Kudos

Clio's Kudos highlights personal and professional achievements of OAH members (e.g, degrees, academic appointments, awards and prizes, research and publication, retirements, etc.) Please submit your announcement using this form.

Keyes named ACLS Fellow

Sarah Keyes, University of Southern California, has been named a 2013 American Council of Learned Societies New Faculty Fellow.

Posted: April 23, 2013
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Graff Named NHC Fellow

Harvey J. Graff has been named a Fellow of the National Humanities Center, Research Triangle, NC, and a Fellow of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University, for 2013-2014. He will spend the year at the NHC writing a social history of interdisciplinarity.

Posted: April 23, 2013
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Witt, Bolster Bancroft Prize Winners

Please join us in congratulating OAH members John Fabian Witt, Yale University, and W. Jeffrey Bolster, University of New Hampshire, 2013 winners of Columbia University's prestigious Bancroft Prize.

Posted: March 25, 2013
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Stein named Distinguished Professor

The University's Board of Trustees appointed City College of New York historian and author Dr. Judith Stein a University Distinguished Professor at its January 2013 meeting. The appointment recognizes Professor Stein's outstanding scholarship over the past four decades, which has helped shape the study of 20th century U.S. history, labor history, African-American history and political economy.

Posted: February 18, 2013
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Penningroth is a 2012 MacArthur Fellow

Please join us in congratulating OAH member and Northwestern University history professor Dylan C. Penningroth, who was named a 2012 MacArthur Fellow! Visit the MacArthur Foundation web site to view a short video on Penningroth's research in the history of the black family and community life.

Posted: October 25, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Elias and Marine-Street are Hagley Museum Fellows

Congratulations to OAH members Allison Elias, University of Virginia, and Natalie Marine-Street, Stanford University, recipients of grants and fellowships from the Center for the History of Business, Technology, and Society, Hagley Museum and Library.

Posted: September 11, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

David Nord Recieves Award

The American Journalism Historians Association has selected David P. Nord, professor emeritus in the Indiana University School of Journalism, as winner of the 2012 Sidney Kobre Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism History.

Posted: September 10, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Hoganson Receives Billington Prize

Please join us in congratulating Kristin Hoganson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, who is the recipient of the 2012 Ray Allen Billington Prize from the Western History Association for her article "Meat in the Middle: Converging Borderlands in the U.S. Midwest, 1865-1900." Hoganson's article appeared in our March, 2012 issue.

Posted: September 7, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Adrian Brettle Receives Fellowship

Adrian Brettle, University of Virginia, is a 2012-2013 recipient of an Archie K. Davis Fellowship from the North Caroliniana Society.

Posted: August 6, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Praise for Bolster's
Black Jacks

Jeffrey W. Bolster's book, Black Jacks—and the impact it made on one man's life—is featured in The Washington Post.

Posted: July 17, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Massachusetts Teacher of the Year

Richard F. Houston, OAH member and American history teacher at Harwich (MA) High School, received the 2012 Massachussetts Teacher of the Year Award from Governor Deval Patrick in a statehouse ceremony on June 19.

Posted: June 20, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Sipress and Voelker Win Award

OAH members Joel M. Sipress, University of Wisconsin–Superior, and David J. Voelker, University of Wisconsin–Green Bay, are recipients of the 2012 Maryellen Weimer Scholarly Work on Teaching and Learning Award sponsored by Magna Publications for their article, "The End of the History Survey Course: The Rise and Fall of the Coverage Model" that appeared in the March 2011 issue of the Journal of American History.

Posted: May 30, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

OAH Members Named 2012 ACLS Fellows

The OAH congratulates the following members who are recipients of fellowships from the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS). Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellow: Matthew Amato, University of Southern California. New Faculty Fellows Program: Ikuko Asaka, Rutgers University, New Brunswick; and Melissa Milewski, Columbia University. ACLS Fellowship: Darren Dochuk, Purdue University. Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellowship: Risa Goluboff, University of Virginia; and Lisa McGirr, Harvard University. Charles A. Ryskamp Research Fellowship: Andrew Kahrl, Marquette University; and Susan Pearson, Northwestern University.

More information is available at: http://www.acls.org/fellows/new/

Posted: May 22, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

New Guggenheim Fellows

OAH members Laura F. Edwards (Duke University) and Lori D. Ginzberg (Pennsylvania State University) were among the recently announced 2012 Guggenheim Foundation Fellows.

More information is available at: http://www.gf.org/news-events/2012-Fellows-in-the-United-States-and-Canada/

Posted: May 14, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Susan D. Ware is new General Editor

Susan D. Ware has been appointed the General Editor of the American National Biography, the premier biographical encyclopedia of U.S. history.

More information is available at: http://www.acls.org/news/4-19-2012/

Posted: May 10, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Mellon Foundation Elects New President

Earl Lewis, Emory University, has been elected president of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Posted: May 10, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

New AAAS Fellows Named

David Blight, Yale University, Lizabeth Cohen, Harvard University, and Vicki L. Ruiz, University of California, Irvine, were newly-elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

More information is available at: http://www.amacad.org/

Posted: May 10, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Mark Durfee Graduates with Honors

Mark Durfee, of Troy, Texas graduated with honors from American Public University in February 2012 with a Master of Arts degree in history with a concentration in American History.

Posted: March 23, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Three OAH Members receive the 2012 Bancroft Prize

The Bancroft Prize, awarded annually by Columbia University for distinguished works in American history, was bestowed upon three OAH members for its 2012 prize. OAH congratulates Tomiko Brown-Nagin, University of Virginia; Anne Hyde, Colorado College; and Daniel T. Rodgers, Princeton University. For more information, visit their website.

Posted: March 23, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos

Dr. Miller Leads Fundraising Efforts

Dr. Linda Karen Miller, 1996 OAH Tachau Teacher of the Year recipient, led fundraising efforts in Las Vegas, Nevada to build a statue dedicated to Helen J. Stewart, often called the “first lady of Las Vegas.” For the past four years Miller has been appearing as Helen J. Stewart in character and costume at various civic groups around town.

Posted: January 5, 2012
Tagged: Clio's Kudos