New Speakers Added to Distinguished Lectureship Program Roster for 2018-2019

April 24, 2018

The Organization of American Historians appointed 26 new speakers to its prestigious Distinguished Lectureship Program earlier this month. These scholars, who are affiliated with some of the nation’s top universities, join nearly 600 other OAH Distinguished Lecturers who speak to audiences across the country each year and are widely sought for appearances at museums, libraries, universities, community centers, churches and synagogues, and other venues.

OAH Distinguished Lecturers promote understanding and appreciation of all facets of U.S. history from the 1600s through the present, which is an essential component of the organization’s mission.
According to Katherine M. Finley, the OAH’s executive director, the speaking fees earned by the speakers are an important part of the organization’s non-dues revenue stream. “In these turbulent times, the Distinguished Lectureship Program provides an important service to communities and institutions. We thank these historians for their service to the organization and their efforts to increase the public’s understanding of American history and to help OAH achieve its mission,” she said. “And we congratulate them on achieving this high honor.”

New OAH Distinguished Lecturers for 2018-2019:

  • Heidi L. Ardizzone
  • Keisha N. Blain
  • Sarah Bridger
  • Jennifer Brier
  • Adrian Burgos Jr.
  • Deirdre Cooper Owens
  • Seth Cotlar
  • Catherine Denial
  • Marisa J. Fuentes
  • Malick W. Ghachem
  • Melanie Gustafson
  • Matthew Pratt Guterl
  • Daniel R. Kerr
  • Erika Lee
  • Jen Manion
  • Louis P. Masur
  • Micki McElya
  • Denise Meringolo
  • Khalil G. Muhammad
  • Tyler Priest
  • Jacki Thompson Rand
  • Alex M. Saragoza
  • LaKisha Michelle Simmons
  • Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor
  • Joe William Trotter Jr.
  • Jessica Wang

For a complete list of participating speakers and topics, information about costs and scheduling, reviews, and upcoming lectures, visit