OAH Distinguished Lectureship Program Names New Speakers for 2021

August 27, 2021

The Organization of American Historians’ Distinguished Lectureship Program welcomes the addition of 23 historians, appointed by OAH President Philip J. Deloria. The new lecturers join a roster of nearly 600 prominent scholars who speak to audiences across the country on all aspects of U. S. history.

Distinguished Lecturers can be scheduled virtually or in-person to headline events and commemorations and to bring context to today’s most pertinent and perplexing issues.

This year’s accomplished group of lecturers offers historical expertise in topics including: slavery, women’s rights; sports and recreation; old age; gender; elections and voting rights; civil rights; crime and violence; public history and memory; environmental history; LGBTQ+; legal and constitutional history; Early National history; Latino/a history; African American history; and intellectual history, among others.

“OAH’s Distinguished Lecturers increase public awareness of our nation’s history and help the organization fulfill its mission of promoting excellence in history and encouraging wide discussion of historical questions,” says OAH Executive Director, Beth English. “We congratulate this year’s cohort of lecturers and sincerely thank them for their service to OAH and the profession.”

The OAH Distinguished Lectureship Program, now in its 40th year, has been an important outreach activity of the OAH since its creation in 1981 by OAH President Gerda Lerner. Participants of the program agree to donate one lecture fee per academic year to the OAH during their extendable three-year term.


José M. Alamillo, California State University, Channel Islands
Mary Sarah Bilder, Boston College Law School
Nicole Burrowes, Rutgers University, New Brunswick
Stan Deaton, Georgia Historical Society
Christa Dierksheide, University of Virginia
Ashley D. Farmer, University of Texas, Austin
Corinne T. Field, University of Virginia
Tanisha C. Ford, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Liette Gidlow, Wayne State University
Anthea M. Hartig, Smithsonian National Museum of American History
Kate Haulman, American University
Kenneth Janken, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Max Krochmal, Texas Christian University
Rosina Lozano, Princeton University
W. Caleb McDaniel, Rice University
Kathryn Morse, Middlebury College
Sowande’ Mustakeem, Washington University in St. Louis
Lydia R. Otero, The University of Arizona
Alison M. Parker, University of Delaware
Robert Parkinson, Binghamton University
Robyn C. Spencer, Lehman College, CUNY
Carl Suddler, Emory University
Karin Wulf, William & Mary

For a complete list of participating speakers and topics, upcoming lectures, information about costs and how to schedule a speaker, visit www.oah.org/lectures