September 8, 2022

The Organization of American Historians welcomes the addition of 27 historians to the Distinguished Lectureship Program. Appointed by OAH President Erika Lee and recommended by subcommittee, the new speakers join a renowned roster of U. S. historians who share their expertise and research with a variety of audiences across the country.

This year’s group offers deep expertise on a range of American history topics including Civil Rights, Capitalism, Immigration, Labor, Education, Gender, Slavery, Race, Public Health, LGBTQ+, Politics, the 1960’s, Social Movements, and on the histories of Asian Americans, African Americans, Latinos, and Native Americans.

“We are honored to have these exceptional U. S. historians representing the OAH as Distinguished Lecturers,” says OAH Executive Director Beth English. “By sharing their scholarship and insights through the Distinguished Lectureship Program, they bring context to many of today’s significant national and global issues while advancing OAH’s mission to promote excellence in history and encourage wide discussion of historical questions.”

Distinguished Lecturers can be scheduled for in-person or virtual keynote addresses and lectures, to headline special events, historical commemorations, and conferences, and to lead workshops and professional development events.

For four decades, the Distinguished Lectureship Program has been an important volunteer service and outreach endeavor of the Organization of American Historians since its establishment in 1981 by OAH President Gerda Lerner. Participants of the program agree to donate lecture fees to the OAH during their renewable three-year terms.

For a complete list of participating speakers and topics, upcoming lectures, information about costs and how to schedule a speaker through the OAH Distinguished Lectureship Program, visit:

2022 OAH Distinguished Lecturers

  • Eiichiro Azuma, University of Pennsylvania
  • William Bauer, UNLV
  • Maylei S. Blackwell, UCLA
  • Brenda J. Child, University of Minnesota
  • Amanda Cobb-Greetham, University of Oklahoma
  • Matthew J. Countryman, University of Michigan
  • Jennifer M. Guglielmo, Smith College
  • Françoise N. Hamlin, Brown University
  • Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers, University of California, Berkeley
  • S. Deborah Kang, University of Virginia
  • Kevin Kenny, New York University
  • Shelley Sang-Hee, Lee Brown University
  • Simeon Man, UC San Diego
  • Verónica Martínez-Matsuda, Cornell University
  • John Mckiernan-González, Texas State University
  • Anthony P. Mora, University of Michigan
  • George Derek, Musgrove University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • Johann Neem, Western Washington University
  • Hannah Rosen, William & Mary
  • Nayan Shah, University of Southern California
  • Rachel A. Shelden, Penn State University
  • Jason Scott Smith, University of New Mexico
  • William Sturkey, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Amy Sueyoshi, San Francisco State University
  • Elizabeth Todd-Breland, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Chia Youyee Vang, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • Michael J. Witgen, Columbia University