The Organization of American Historians (OAH) is 501(c)3 nonprofit organization governed by an executive board composed of 15 elected volunteer leaders.

The Governance of the OAH

The OAH is governed by a 15-member Executive Board comprised of nine elected members, treasurer, and officers of the organization that include a vice president, president elect, and president. Presidents serve an additional 2 years on the board after their presidential term. The Executive Committee of the OAH is comprised of the officers of the organization and the immediate past president.

Members of the OAH Executive Board are elected by the OAH membership in an annual election. Elected Board members serve 3-year terms. The vice president serves for 1 year before becoming president elect and then president. The treasurer is chosen by a search committee of the Executive Board for a 5-year term. The OAH Nominating Board creates the annual slate of candidates for the Executive Board. Members of the Nominating Board are elected by the OAH membership in an annual election from a slate of candidates also created by the Nominating Board.  
Officers of the organization, terms of office, and the annual OAH election process, are defined in the OAH Constitution.