OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

About the OAH

2015 Slate of Candidates

At its spring 2014 meeting in April, the OAH Nominating Board has announced the slate of candidates for the 2015 OAH election. In addition to voting for three candidates for OAH Executive Board, OAH members will vote for candidates for the OAH Nominating Board. The election will open in December, 2014.

Candidates by Petition. One hundred voting members of the Organization may present a petition for an additional candidate for any office open for election, such petition to be presented to the Executive Director by October 15. The names of persons so nominated shall be placed on the official ballot, being identified as "candidate by petition."

For more information about the annual OAH election–including the appointment procedure for OAH Vice President–see Article V, Section 2 of the OAH Constitution.

Candidate Biographical Statements.  Complete biographical profiles and personal statements will be available in the fall.


Jon Butler, Howard R. Lamar Professor Emeritus of American Studies, History, and Religious Studies, Yale University; Adjunct Research Professor of History, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities


Nancy F. Cott, Jonathan Trumbull Professor of American History, Harvard University

Vice President

Edward L. Ayers, President and Professor of History, University of Richmond

OAH Executive Board Candidates

One in each pairing will be elected for a total of three. Members elected to the OAH Executive Board shall be elected for three-year terms.

Waldo E. Martin, Jr., Alexander F. and May T. Morrison Professor of American History and Citizenship, University of California Berkeley
Stephanie J. Shaw
, Professor of History, Ohio State University

Karen Halttunen, Professor of History, University of Southern California 
Annelise Orleck, Professor of History, Dartmouth College

Maureen Murphy Nutting, Professor Emeritus, North Seattle College
James W. Oberly, Professor of History, University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire

Nominating Board Candidates

One in each pairing will be elected for a total of three. Members elected to the OAH Nominating Board shall be elected for three-year terms.

Jennifer Brier, Director of Gender and Women's Studies, Associate Professor of Gender and Women's Studies and History, University of Illinois at Chicago
Margot Canaday, Associate Professor of History, Princeton University

Ron Briley, History Department, Sandia Preparatory School, Albuquerque, New Mexico 
Bruce A. Lesh, Social Studies Department Chair, Franklin High School, Baltimore County Public Schools

Martin A. Summers, Associate Professor of History and African and African Diaspora Studies, Director of African and African Diaspora Studies Program, Boston College
Rhonda Y. Williams, Associate Professor of History, Founder and Director, Social Justice Institute, Case Western University