2021-2022 OAH Executive Board

The OAH Executive Board comprises the OAH officers, former presidents who continue to serve for two years immediately succeeding their presidency, and nine elected members. An asterisk (*) denotes members of the OAH Executive Committee, which is composed of the officers of the OAH, and the immediate past president.

Officers of the OAH

Philip J. Deloria* headshot
Philip J. Deloria*
OAH President
Term on OAH Executive Board expires April 2024
Professor of History
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA
Erika Lee* headshot
Erika Lee*
OAH President-Elect
Term on OAH Executive Board expires April 2025
Regents Professor of History and Asian American Studies
Rudolph J. Vecoli Chair in Immigration History
Director, Immigration History Research Center
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
Anthea M. Hartig headshot
Anthea M. Hartig
OAH Vice President
Term on the OAH Executive Board expires April 2026
Elizabeth MacMillan Director
National Museum of American History
Washington, DC
Jay S. Goodgold * headshot
Jay S. Goodgold *
OAH Treasurer
Independent Investor
Chicago, IL
Beth English * headshot
Beth English *
OAH Executive Director (nonvoting member)
Bloomington, IN
Benjamin H. Irvin * headshot
Benjamin H. Irvin *
OAH Executive Editor (nonvoting member)
Editor, Journal of American History
Bloomington, IN

Past Presidents

Joanne Meyerowitz * headshot
Joanne Meyerowitz *
OAH President (2019-2020)
Term on OAH Executive Board expires April 2022
Arthur Unobskey Professor of History and American Studies
Yale University
New Haven, CT
George J. Sánchez * headshot
George J. Sánchez *
OAH President (2020-2021)
Term on OAH Executive Board expires April 2023
Professor of History, American Studies & Ethnicity
Director, USC Center for Diversity and Democracy
University of Southern California
Long Beach, CA

Executive Board Members

Michael Flamm headshot
Michael Flamm
Term expires April 2022
Professor of History
Ohio Wesleyan University
Delaware, OH
Theresa R. Jach headshot
Theresa R. Jach
Term expires April 2022
Faculty, History Department
Houston Community College
Houston, TX
Donald W. Rogers headshot
Donald W. Rogers
Term expires April 2022
Adjunct Lecturer in History
Central Connecticut State University (retired)
New Britain, CT
Susan Sleeper-Smith headshot
Susan Sleeper-Smith
Term expires April 2023
Professor, Department of History
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI
Brenda E. Stevenson headshot
Brenda E. Stevenson
Term expires April 2023
Nickoll Family Endowed Professor
Department of History
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
Mike Williams headshot
Mike Williams
Term expires April 2023
Education Projects Manager
National Humanities Center
Research Triangle Park, NC
Catherine Allgor headshot
Catherine Allgor
Term expires April 2024
President, Massachusetts Historical Society
Boston, MA
Ashley D. Farmer headshot
Ashley D. Farmer
Term expires April 2024
Assistant Professor
History and African & African Diaspora Studies
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX
Joanne B. Freeman headshot

Image credit: Beowulf Sheehan

Joanne B. Freeman
Term expires April 2024
Class of 1954 Professor of History and American Studies
Yale University
New Haven, CT

Executive Board Standing Committee for Finance
Michael Flamm, Chair
Catherine Allgor
Susan Sleeper-Smith

Executive Board Standing Committee for Operations
Theresa Jach, Chair
Joanne B. Freeman
Mike Williams

Executive Board Standing Committee for Publications
Donald Rogers, Chair
Ashley D. Farmer
Brenda E. Stevenson

The OAH Executive Board composition is updated each year after the annual meeting.