Binkley-Stephenson Award

Two black-and-white photographs of William Binkley and Wendell Stephenson combined

The Binkley-Stephenson Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians for the best article that appeared in the Journal of American History during the preceding calendar year (March, June, September, December issues).

William C. Binkley was president of the OAH 1944–1946 and editor of the Journal of American History 1956–1963. Wendell H. Stephenson was president of the OAH 1957–1958 and editor of the Journal of American History 1946–1953.

Binkley-Stephenson Award Committee

Ji-Yeon Yuh, Northwestern University (Committee Chair)
Peter Martínez, Tarrant County College-Northeast Campus
Traci Parker, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

The final decision will be made by the Binkley-Stephenson Award Committee by February 2023. The award will be presented at the 2023 OAH Conference on American History in Los Angeles, California, March 30–April 2. The winner will be provided with details regarding the conference and awards presentation.

By submitting an article for publication, the author agrees to OAH’s use of their data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. ​Read our privacy policy here.

List of Past Winners