Presidents’ Travel Fund for Emerging Historians

Providing travel support for graduate students and recent PhDs presenting at the OAH Conference on American History.



Presidents’ Travel Fund for Emerging Historians provides travel stipends of up to $750 for up to five graduate students to present at the OAH Conference on American History. In addition to travel funds, recipients will be provided with a 90-minute meeting with a mentor at the conference as well as other networking opportunities.


Eligible applicants are current graduate students or recent PhDs in history whose papers or panels/sessions have been accepted by the OAH Program Committee for inclusion on the OAH Conference on American History program. Preference will be given to those who are presenting at the conference for the first time.

Submission Process

Applicants should email their paper title or panel title, an abstract of the accepted presentation, a CV (indicating your anticipated year of completion of the PhD or the year your PhD was granted), and a paragraph explaining why attending the OAH Conference on American History it is important for you and what you hope to get from your attendance. Materials are to be sent as a PDF by 11:59 p.m. PST on November 1, 2024, to the OAH Presidents’ Travel Fund for Emerging Historians Committee at


Annette Gordon-Reed, Harvard University, OAH President-Elect (Committee Chair)
Marc Stein, San Francisco State University, Vice President
Natalia Molina, University of Southern California, Incoming Vice President

Past Winners


Kimberly Phuong Beaudreau, University of Illinois Chicago
Rebecca Boorstein, Yale University 
Jaime Sánchez, Jr., Harvard University 
Duangkamol Tantirungkij, CUNY Graduate Center


W. Tanner Allread, Stanford University
Noah Hanohano Dolim, University of California, Irvine
Ari Annise Green, North Carolina State University
Jessica R. Locklear, Emory University
Angus McLeod IV, University of Pennsylvania

2021 No in-person meeting due to Covid-19

2020 OAH Annual Meeting cancelled due to COVID-19

Sasha Coles, University of California, Santa Barbara
Emma Day, University of Oxford
Jessica Derleth, Binghamton University (SUNY)
Hollie Pich, University of Sydney
Geneva Smith, Princeton University


Rosie C. Bermudez, University of California, Santa Barbara
Jamalin Rae Harp, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Joshua Hollands, University College London
Graeme Mack, University of California
Ana Stevenson, University of the Free State


Julia Bowes, Rutgers University/University of Virginia
Annelise Heinz, University of Texas at Dallas
Mariona Lloret, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya
Sarah Miller-Davenport, University of Sheffield
Marc Reyes, University of Connecticut


Lauren Brand, Texas A&M University
Iván Chaar-López, University of Michigan
Jane Dinwoodie, Oxford University
Nicole Gilhuis, University of California, Los Angeles
Elizabeth J. Wood, The College of William and Mary


Meaghan Leigh Beadle, University of Virginia
Nancy O. Gallman, University of California, Davis
Kris Klein Hernandez, University of Michigan
Miguel Juárez, University of Texas at El Paso
Megan E. Springate, University of Maryland, College Park


William Gow, University of California, Berkeley
Alyssa M. Ribeiro, University of Pittsburgh
Heather Sinclair, University of Texas, El Paso
Tao Wei, Stony Brook University, SUNY
Gene Zubovich, University of California, Berkeley