Lawrence W. Levine Award

Recognizing the best book in American cultural history.



The Lawrence W. Levine Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the best book in American cultural history. Lawrence W. Levine was president of the OAH from 1992–1993.


Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2024, through December 31, 2024.

Submission Process

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2025 Lawrence W. Levine Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2024.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2024, and before January 1, 2025. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be sent to each committee member postmarked no later than January 7, 2025.

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

Please mail submissions to the committee members listed below: 

Teresa Barnett
Annelise Heinz, University of Oregon
Aaron Sachs, Cornell University
James Zarsadiaz, University of San Francisco

Addresses to come.

Past Winners


James Zarsadiaz, University of San Francisco. Resisting Change in Suburbia: Asian Immigrants and Frontier Nostalgia in L.A. (University of California Press) 


Tiya Alicia Miles, Harvard University, All That She Carried: The Journey of Ashley’s Sack, a Black Family Keepsake (Random House)


Marcia Chatelain, Georgetown University, Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America (Liveright Publishing Corporation, W.W. Norton & Company)


Erik R. Seeman, University at Buffalo, Speaking with the Dead in Early America (University of Pennsylvania Press)


Monica Muñoz Martinez,Brown University, The Injustice Never Leaves You: Anti-Mexican Violence in Texas (Harvard University Press)


Cary Cordova, University of Texas at Austin, The Heart of the Mission: Latino Art and Politics in San Francisco (University of Pennsylvania Press)


John W. Troutman, University of Louisiana, Lafayette/National Museum of American History, Kīkā Kila: How the Hawaiian Steel Guitar Changed the Sound of Modern Music (University of North Carolina Press)


Benjamin Looker, Saint Louis University, A Nation of Neighborhoods: Imagining Cities, Communities, and Democracy in Postwar America (University of Chicago Press)


Allyson Hobbs, Stanford University, A Chosen Exile: A History of Racial Passing in American Life (Harvard University Press)


Shawn Michelle Smith, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, At the Edge of Sight: Photography and the Unseen (Duke University Press)

Honorable Mention: Teresa Barnett, UCLA Library Center for Oral History Research, Sacred Relics: Pieces of the Past in Nineteenth-Century America (University of Chicago Press)


Adria L. Imada, University of California, San Diego, Aloha America: Hula Circuits through the U.S. Empire (Duke University Press)


Michael Willrich, Brandeis University, Pox: An American History (Penguin Group, USA)


Heather Murray, University of Ottawa, Not in this Family: Gays and the Meaning of Kinship in Postwar North America (University of Pennsylvania Press)


Kathleen M. Brown, University of Pennsylvania, Foul Bodies: Cleanliness in Early America (Yale University Press)


Peggy Pascoe, University of Oregon, What Comes Naturally: Miscegenation Law and the Making of Race in America (Oxford University Press)


Daniel R. Mandell, Truman State University, Tribe, Race, History: Native Americans in Southern New England, 1780–1880 (The Johns Hopkins University Press)