Darlene Clark Hine Award


A black and white photograph of Darlene Clark Hine

The Darlene Clark Hine Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the best book in African American women's and gender history. The award is named for Darlene Clark Hine, a pioneer in African American women’s and gender history and past president of the OAH 2001–2002.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2019.

The award will be presented at the 2020 OAH Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., April 2–5.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2020 Darlene Clark Hine Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2019.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2019 and before January 1, 2020. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be sent to each committee member and postmarked no later than January 7, 2020.

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

The final decision will be made by the Darlene Clark Hine Award Committee by February 2020. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. By applying for this award, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. ​Read our privacy policy here.

Darlene Clark Hine Award Committee

Karsonya Wise Whitehead (Committee Chair)
Loyola University Maryland
Department of Communication, CTM012A
4501 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21210

Ashley Farmer
University of Texas at Austin
Department of History
Campus Code B7000
Office GAR 2.148
128 Inner Campus Drive
Austin, Texas 78712-1739

Jennifer Hull
Trinity School
Department of History
139 West 91st Street
New York, NY 10024

Deirdre Cooper Owens
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Department of History
603 Oldfather Hall
Lincoln, NE 68588-0327


List of Past Winners