David Montgomery Award

The deadline has passed. Information on the 2024 award will be available summer 2023.


Please send as soon as possible to allow for any mail delays that might occur.

Black and white photograph of David Montgomery
David Montgomery

The David Montgomery Award is given annually by the OAH with co-sponsorship by the Labor and Working-Class History Association (LAWCHA) for the best book on a topic in American labor and working-class history. Eligible works shall be written in English and deal with United States history in significant ways but may include comparative or transnational studies that fall within these guidelines. The award is given in recognition of David Montgomery’s crucial role in pioneering new approaches to the study of working people and their history. David Montgomery was president of the OAH 1999-2000.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2022.

The award will be presented at the 2023 OAH Conference on American History in Los Angeles, CA, March 30–April 2.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2023 David Montgomery Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2022.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2022 and before January 1, 2023. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received by each committee member and postmarked no later than January 7, 2023 (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the David Montgomery Award Committee by February 2023. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Conference on American History and awards presentation. By applying for this award, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. ​Read our privacy policy here.

David Montgomery Award Committee

Eduardo Contreras (Committee Chair)
Hunter College/CUNY
Department of History
695 Park Avenue, Room HW 1512
New York, NY 10065
Please e-mail the title(s) you are submitting for consideration so the committee can verify that all books have been received: econtre@hunter.cuny.edu

Ken Fones-Wolf
4327 Audrey Lane
Williamsburg, VA 23188
[Affiliation: West Virginia University]

LAWCHA Representative
Stacey Smith
Oregon State University
School of History, Philosophy, and Religion
Milam 322
Corvallis, OR 97331

Please send as soon as possible to allow for any mail delays that might occur.

List of Past Winners