Ellis W. Hawley Prize

The deadline for the 2020 prize has passed. Information on the 2021 prize will be available summer 2020.


The Ellis W. Hawley Prize is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the best book-length historical study of the political economy, politics, or institutions of the United States, in its domestic or international affairs, from the Civil War to the present. The prize honors Ellis W. Hawley, Emeritus Professor of History, University of Iowa, an outstanding historian of these subjects.

Eligible works shall include book-length historical studies, written in English. Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2019.

The prize will be presented at the 2020 OAH Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., April 2–5.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2020 Ellis W. Hawley Prize Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2019.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2019 and before January 1, 2020. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received by committee members and postmarked no later than January 7, 2020. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Ellis W. Hawley Prize Committee by February 2020. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. By applying for this prize, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. ​Read our privacy policy here​.

Ellis W. Hawley Prize Committee

Jessica Rae Pliley (Committee Chair)
1105 Cimarron Court
San Marcos, TX 78666
[Affiliation: Texas State University]

Gerald Horne
University of Houston
Department of History
4800 Calhoun
Houston, TX 77204-3003

Burton I. Kaufmann
300 East 75th Street Apartment 34A
New York, NY 10021
[Affiliation: Miami University of Ohio, Emeritus]

Sonia Lee
Department of American Studies 
Indiana University
Ballantine Hall 545
1020 East Kirkwood Avenue
Bloomington IN 47405

Chad H. Parker
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Department of History
H.L. Griffin Hall
141 Rex Street
Lafayette, LA 70503

Barbara D. Savage
University of Pennsylvania
Department of Africana Studies
3401 Walnut Street #331
Philadelphia, PA 19104


List of Past Winners