Frederick Jackson Turner Award

The deadline for the 2022 award has passed. Information on the 2023 award will be available summer 2022.


The Frederick Jackson Turner Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of a first scholarly book dealing with some aspect of American history.

The rules and terms of the competition are as follows:

  1. Eligible books must be published during the calendar year preceding that in which the award is given;
  2. The author may not have previously published a book-length work of history;
  3. Submissions will be made by publishers, who may submit such books as they deem eligible;
  4. Co-authored works are eligible, as long as neither author has previously published a book of history;
  5. Authors who have previously co-authored a book of history are not eligible.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2021 through December 31, 2021.

The award will be presented at the 2022 OAH Conference on American History in Boston, MA, March 31–April 3.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2022 Frederick Jackson Turner Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below and must include a complete list of the author’s publications OR a statement from the publisher verifying this is the author's first book. No submission will be considered without this proof of eligibility. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2021.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2021 and before January 1, 2022. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received by each committee member postmarked no later than January 7, 2022. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right)

The final decision will be made by the Frederick Jackson Turner Award Committee by February 2022. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Conference on American History and awards presentation. By applying for this award, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. Read our privacy policy here.

Frederick Jackson Turner Award Committee

George J. Sanchez (Committee Chair)
401 Paseo Dorado
Long Beach CA 90803
[Affiliation: University of Southern California]

Kevin Mumford
Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences
75 Alta Road
Stanford CA 94305
[Affiliation: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign]

Mae M. Ngai
Before September 1, 2021:
300 Farmington Road West
Accokeek MD 20607
After September 1, 2021:
606 West 116 Street, Apartment 41
New York NY 10027
[Affiliation: Columbia University]


List of Past Winners