Lawrence W. Levine Award

The deadline for the 2022 award has passed. Information on the 2023 award will be available summer 2022.


A black and white photograph of Lawrence Levine

The Lawrence W. Levine Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the best book in American cultural history. Lawrence W. Levine was president of the OAH 1992–1993.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2021 through December 31, 2021.

The award will be presented at the 2022 OAH Conference on American History in Boston, MA, March 31–April 3.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2022 Lawrence W. Levine Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2021.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2021 and before January 1, 2022. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be sent to each committee member postmarked no later than January 7, 2022. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Lawrence W. Levine Award Committee by February 2022. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Conference on American History and awards presentation. By applying for this award, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. ​Read our privacy policy here​.

Lawrence W. Levine Award Committee

Marina Moskowitz (Committee Chair)
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Design Studies/School of Human Ecology
3132 Nancy Nicholas Hall
1300 Linden Drive
Madison WI 53706

Lorena Chambers

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Department of History
1029 Tisch Hall
435 South State Street
Ann Arbor MI 48109-1003

M.J. Rymsza-Pawlowska
American University
Department of History
4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Battelle-Tompkins, 137
Washington DC 20016-8003

Orlando R. Serrano, Jr.
3140 Aberfoyle Place NW
Washington DC 20015
[Affiliation: National Museum of American History]

Barbara Clark Smith
4141 North Henderson Road #1211
Arlington VA 22203
[Affiliation: National Museum of American History]


List of Past Winners