Mary Nickliss Prize in U.S. Women's and/or Gender History

The deadline has passed. Information on the 2020 prize will be available summer 2019.


Mary Nickliss

In 2015, the inaugural Mary Nickliss Prize in U.S. Women's and/or Gender History was awarded, thanks to a generous gift to endow this prize fund from Alexandra M. Nickliss. The prize is named after Professor Nickliss' mother, Mary Jurich Nickliss (1920–2017), the child of Serbian immigrants, who arrived in the United States in the early twentieth century wave of immigration. Mary Jurich Nickliss always had aspirations of receiving a college education and becoming a career woman but was constrained by historical times. Her dream was realized by her daughter, Alexandra Nickliss, presently an instructor in the Department of Social Sciences at the City College of San Francisco, and a long-time OAH member. This prize acknowledges the generations of women whose opportunities were constrained by the historical circumstances in which they lived.

The Mary Nickliss Prize is given for "the most original" book in U.S. Women's and/or Gender History (including North America and the Caribbean prior to 1776). The OAH defines "the most original" book as one that is a path breaking work or challenges and/or changes widely accepted scholarly interpretations in the field. If no book submitted for the prize meets this criterion, the award shall be given for "the best" book in U.S. women's and/or gender history. "The best" book recognizes the ideas and originality of the significant historical scholarship being done by historians of U.S. Women's and/or Gender History and makes a significant contribution to the understanding of U.S. Women's and/or Gender History.

Each entry must be published during the calendar year preceding that in which the award is given (January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018).

The prize will be presented at the 2019 OAH Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 4–6.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled "2019 Mary Nickliss Prize Entry" must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2018.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2018 and before January 1, 2019. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be sent to each committee member postmarked no later than January 7, 2019. (Please see "Submission Policy" at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Mary Nickliss Prize Committee by February 2019. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. By applying for this prize, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. ​Read our privacy policy here​.

Mary Nickliss Prize Committee

Linda Gordon (Committee Chair)
New York University
Department of History
53 Washington Square South
New York NY 10012

Carol DeBoer-Langworthy
Brown University
Nonfiction Writing Program
Box 1852, Department of English
70 Brown Street
Providence RI 02912

Jessica Millward
c/o Mellon Fellowship in African American History
The Library Company of Philadelphia
1314 Locust Street
Philadelphia PA 19107
[Affiliation: University of California, Irvine]

Beverly Wilson Palmer
Pomona College
Department of History
333 North College Way
Claremont CA 91711

Ana Elizabeth Rosas
University of California, Irvine
Department of Chicano/Latino Studies
3151 Social Science Plaza A
Irvine CA 92697-5100


List of Past Prize Winners