Merle Curti Social History Award

The deadline for the 2020 award has passed. Information on the 2021 award will be available summer 2020.


A black and white photograph of Merle Curti

One award is given annually to the author of the best book in American social history. Merle Curti was president of the OAH 1951–1952.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2019.

The award will be presented at the 2020 OAH Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., April 2–5.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled "2020 Merle Curti Social History Award Entry," must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2019.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2019 and before January 1, 2020. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received by each committee member postmarked no later than January 7, 2020. (Please see "Submission Policy" at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Merle Curti Social History Award Committee by February 2020. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. By applying for this award, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. Read our privacy policy here.

Members of the Merle Curti Social History Award Committee

Matthew Pratt Guterl (Committee Chair)
Brown University
Department of American Studies
71 George Street
Box 1892
Providence, RI 02912

Rebecca L. Davis
University of Delaware
Department of History
John Munroe Hall 207
46 West Delaware Avenue
Newark, DE 19716

Jennifer M. Guglielmo
Smith College
Department of History
Wright Hall
Northampton, MA 01063

Robert Parkinson
Binghamton University
Department of History
4400 Vestal Parkway East
Binghamton, NY 13902

Robyn C. Spencer
CUNY - Lehman College
Department of History
299 Carman Hall
250 Bedford Park Boulevard West
Bronx, NY 10468-1527


List of Past Winners