Huggins-Quarles Award

The deadline has passed. Information on the 2024 award will be available summer 2023.


Named for Benjamin Quarles and Nathan Huggins, two outstanding historians of the African American past, the Huggins-Quarles Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to one or two graduate students of color to assist them with expenses related to travel to research collections for the completion of the PhD dissertation. These awards were established to promote greater diversity in the historical profession.

Requirements of Applicants

  • applicant must be advanced ABD, minimum 5th year in program
  • applicant must be ALANA (African American, Latino/a, Asian American, Native American) scholar
  • applicant's dissertation must focus on U.S. history
  • U.S. residency is not required

Application Procedures

To apply, the student should submit the following items in one PDF document and in the following order:

  • cover letter, which should also indicate the candidate's progress on the dissertation, including ABD status
  • CV
  • abstract: a five-page dissertation proposal (double spaced), which should include a definition of the project, an explanation of the project's significance and contribution to the field, and a description of the most important primary sources
  • a one-page itemized budget explaining travel and research plans

Each application must include a letter from the dissertation adviser attesting to the student's status and the ways in which the Huggins-Quarles Award will facilitate the completion of the dissertation project. Advisers should e-mail their letters separately to the committee chair. The committee considers only candidates who are advanced ABD and whose focus is on U.S. history.

For advice on how to develop a strong proposal, see "Preparing a Successful Grant or Fellowship Application," OAH Newsletter (August 2009), pp. 7, 14:

One complete copy of each application (including cover letter, CV, abstract, and budget), clearly labeled "2023 Huggins-Quarles Award Entry," must be e-mailed (PDF) directly to the committee chair listed below. The chair must receive all applications and letters from advisers by midnight (PST) on November 1, 2022. The final decision will be made by the Huggins-Quarles Award Committee by February 2023. The award will be presented at the 2023 OAH Conference on American History in Los Angeles, CA, March 30–April 2. All recipients are expected to attend and present their work at the 2024 OAH Conference on American History.

By applying for this award, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. ​Read our privacy policy here​.

Send applications to:

Françoise Hamlin, Brown University:

Huggins-Quarles Award Committee

Françoise Hamlin, Brown University (Committee Chair)
Kami Fletcher, Albright College
Irvin Ibargüen, New York University
Erika Pérez, University of Arizona
Abigail Rosas, California State University, Long Beach
Derek Taira, University of Hawai'i-Mānoa


List of Past Winners