Awards / Professional Excellence and Service Awards

Stanton-Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History

Recognizing excellence in National Park Service historical efforts that make the NPS a leader in promoting public understanding of and engagement with American history.



The award recognizes excellence in National Park Service historical efforts that make the NPS a leader in promoting public understanding of and engagement with American history. Please share with us exemplary projects that encourage civic dialogue in all areas of public history. Eligible submissions include park-based interpretive work (museum exhibits, waysides, digital and print media, public programming, etc.); regionally-oriented educational and preservation programs; National Register or NHL nominations, historic resource and special resource studies which have public outreach components, and national programs and projects designed to encourage public appreciation for the complexity and richness of the American past.


The nominated project may have been undertaken by NPS employees entirely within the agency or in collaboration with students, contractors, volunteers, or cooperating institutions, and involve a single national park unit or the National Park Service system. The award citation will recognize the authors, designers, or curators of the project as well as the park superintendents and other NPS managers who provided leadership on its behalf. The OAH will waive conference registration for up to two NPS employees to allow recipients to attend the OAH Conference on American History and receive the award.

Submission Process

Selection will be made by the OAH Stanton‑Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History Committee. Please email nominations, packaged as a single PDF named [Stanton Horton Award_Project Name] directly to each of the four committee members listed below.

Nominations must include:

  1. A 1,000 word description and overview of the project;
  2. Information documenting the extent of the project’s public engagement, such as data about the numbers and demographics of the people who participated in onsite programs or may have visited online and engaged in the project beyond its physical presence;
  3. The names of NPS employees associated with the project as well as their supervisors at the park or regional level; and
  4. Two (2) letters of recommendation from individuals or groups familiar with the project but not associated with its planning or implementation.

The submission deadline for all nomination materials, sent to all award committee members, is 11:59 p.m. PST on December 15, 2023.

Please email submissions to the committee members listed below: 

Edward Hagerty, Chair
[email protected]

Andrea DeKoter
[email protected]

Lori Kuechler
[email protected]

Ray Rast
[email protected]

Past Winners


Farmer, General, President: Ulysses S. Grant at 200. 


Hispanic Legacies of Route 66 in New Mexico.


The Illinois Freedom Project


Rocking the Cradle and Ghosts of the Revolution


Island of the Blue Dolphins


Treasured Landscapes: National Park Service Art Collections Tell America’s Stories


Fostering Public Dialogue around Birthright Citizenship

Honorable Mention: Future of Richmond’s Past

Honorable Mention: Telling All American Stories


Manzanar National Historic Site barracks exhibit


National Underground Railroad Network to Freedom

Honorable Mention: Rosie the Riveter/World War II Home Front National Historical Park Visitor Education Center