Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award


A black and white photograph of Roy Rosenzweig
Roy Rosenzweig

The OAH Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award is presented each year to an individual or individuals whose contributions have significantly enriched our understanding and appreciation of American history. Beginning in 2008, the award is named in memory of Roy Rosenzweig, who was the Mark and Barbara Fried Chair and founding director of the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University. Rosenzweig, a pioneer in the field of digital humanities, was actively involved in OAH for more than fifteen years, serving on its nominating board, program committees, executive board, and was an OAH Distinguished Lecturer. In 2011, George Mason University renamed the Center for History and New Media to honor his memory. Rosenzweig passed away in 2007 at the age of 57.

Those eligible for this award include scholars, teachers, writers, public historians, and officeholders who have shaped or deepened our sensitivity to the past.

The selection committee is composed of the four outgoing Executive Board members. Any member of the OAH can submit a nomination by letter to the Organization’s Executive Director. All nominations submitted will be considered by the selection committee, along with other nominations generated by the committee. Nominations will remain active for three years.

Please indicate “2020 Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award” in the subject line and send nomination as a PDF by midnight PST on October 1, 2019 to

The award will be presented at the 2020 OAH Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., April 2–5.

Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award Committee

Edward L. Ayers, University of Richmond (Committee Chair)
Lu Ann Jones, National Park Service
Martha S. Jones, Johns Hopkins University
T. J. Stiles, Independent Scholar


List of Past Winners