Stanton-Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History

Deadline: Submissions must be postmarked/submitted by December 2, 2019

The award recognizes excellence in National Park Service historical efforts that make the NPS a leader in promoting public understanding of and engagement with American history. Please share with us exemplary projects that encourage civic dialogue in all areas of public history. Eligible submissions include park-based interpretive work (museum exhibits, waysides, digital and print media, public programming, etc.); regionally-oriented educational and preservation programs; National Register or NHL nominations, historic resource and special resource studies which have public outreach components, and national programs and projects designed to encourage public appreciation for the complexity and richness of the American past.

The nominated project may have been undertaken by NPS employees entirely within the agency or in collaboration with students, contractors, volunteers, or cooperating institutions, and involve a single national park unit or the National Park Service system. The award citation will recognize the authors, designers, or curators of the project as well as the park superintendents and other NPS managers who provided leadership on its behalf. The OAH will waive annual meeting registration for up to two NPS employees to allow recipients to attend the meeting and receive the award.

Selection will be made by the OAH Stanton‑Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History Committee. Please send nominations directly to each of the three committee members listed below. Nominations must include 1) a 1,000 word description and overview of the project; 2) information documenting the extent of the project's public engagement, such as data about the numbers and demographics of the people who participated in onsite programs or may have visited online and engaged in the project beyond its physical presence; 3) the names of NPS employees associated with the project as well as their supervisors at the park or regional level; and 4) two letters of recommendation from individuals or groups familiar with the project but not associated with its planning or implementation.

The postmark/submission deadline for all nomination materials to be sent to award committee members is December 2, 2019. The committee will make its selection by February 2020, at which time the award recipient will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. The award will be presented at the 2020 OAH Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., April 2–5.

Stanton-Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History Committee

Diane E. Miller (Committee Chair)

National Park Service
National Underground Railroad Network to Freedom
Harriet Tubman UGRR Visitor Center
4068 Golden Hill Road
Church Creek, MD 21622

Douglas W. Dodd
California State University, Bakersfield
Department of History
Mail Stop 10 HOB
9001 Stockdale Highway
Bakersfield, CA 93311

David Osborn
St. Paul's Church National Historic Site
897 South Columbus Avenue
Mt. Vernon, NY 10550

Deadline: Submissions must be postmarked/submitted by December 2, 2019

List of Past Award Winners