Easter Irish History Talks Live from Belfast

This Easter, Clifton House, the home of the Belfast Charitable Society and the original Poor House in Belfast, is running a special series of online talks at a time that would suit our American neighbors across the pond.

Plots and Plotters, the history of the 1798 Rebellion will take place at 6pm, UK time (10am in California / 11am in Texas / 12noon in Chicago & New Orleans / 1pm in Ohio / 1pm in New York) on April 7th, 8th and 9th 2021 live from Belfast, Northern Ireland, via Zoom.

The one-hour talk will explore the history of the reformers and rebels who made the Belfast Charitable Society a “hotbed of radical activity” in the 1790s. Hear about the Joys, McCrackens, McCabe & Cunningham who were on opposing sides of the 1798 United Irishmen Rebellion & how the Charitable Society, and its members, emerged from it, including Dr. James Campbell White who went into exile in the United States.

Tickets are around $7 per device (not per person). Find out more

If you would like any further information, follow us on Facebook


Posted: March 30, 2021
Tagged: Meetings, Conferences, Symposia