Opportunities for Historians

Awards and Prizes

2020 NCPH Award Cycle Open for Nominations

DEADLINE: December 1, 2019

Recognize those who put history to work in the world!

Over $7,000 in award money is available to recognize excellence in the multitude of ways public historians apply their skills to the world around us. The awards program promotes professionalism and best practices among public historians and raises awareness about their activities. Recipients will be honored during the National Council on Public History annual meeting, March 18–21, 2020 in Atlanta, GA.

Guidelines, as well as, current and past recipients are listed on the NCPH website, here>> 

Due November 1, 2019:

  • NCPH Book Award: A $1,000 award for the best book about or growing out of public history published in 2018 or 2019.
  • Robert Kelley Award: A $500 award honoring distinguished achievements by individuals, institutions, or nonprofit or corporate entities for making history relevant to the public.

Due December 1, 2019:

  • Excellence in Consulting Award: Up to two $500 awards for outstanding work and contributions by consultants or contractors.
  • Outstanding Public History Project Award: $1,000 recognizing a project—digital, print, film, exhibit, etc.—that contributes to a broader public reflection and appreciation of the past or that serves as a model of professional public history practice.
  • New Professional Award: Two $500 travel grants to enable new professionals, practicing public history for no more than three years, to attend the 2020 NCPH Annual Meeting.
  • Student Project Award: A $500 travel grant to attend the 2020 NCPH Annual Meeting, recognizing the contributions of student work to the field of public history.
  • Graduate Student Travel Award: Five travel grants of up to $300 each for graduate students presenting (session, poster session, or working group) at the 2020 NCPH Annual Meeting.

Join us in celebrating the winners at the 2020 NCPH Annual Meeting in Atlanta, GA, March 18–21, 2020!

Read More

Posted: September 12, 2019
Tagged: Awards and Prizes

Donald G. Davis Article Award

DEADLINE: January 1, 2020

Donald G. Davis Article Award
The Donald G. Davis Article Award is presented by the Library History Round Table of the American Library Association every even-numbered year to recognize the best article written in English in the field of United States and Canadian library history. The award honors Donald G. Davis, longtime professor at the School of Information at the University of Texas and editor of Libraries & the Cultural Record (formerly Journal of Library History, Philosophy, and Comparative Librarianship). A major contributor to the field, Dr. Davis has authored numerous history articles, advised many notable Ph.D. dissertations, compiled important bibliographies, and edited both the Encyclopedia of Library History (with Wayne Wiegand) and The Dictionary of American Library Biography, Second Supplement.

For a list of previous winners, click here.

Eligibility and Criteria
Entries for the Davis Award must have been published during the two years preceding the award year; e.g. articles from 2018 and 2019 may be nominated for the 2020 award. Entries are judged on quality of scholarships, clarity of style, and depth of research. The round table is particularly interested in articles that place the subject within its broader historical, social, cultural, and political context and make interdisciplinary connections with print culture and information studies. One award will be given every second year unless the jury does not find a suitable candidate for that period. Papers that have won the Justin Winsor or Jesse Shera Awards are not eligible for consideration.
Nomination Process
Anyone may nominate one or more articles by sending a recommendation and an electronic copy of the article to the Chair of the Davis Award Committee, Brett Spencer at dbs21@psu.edu.

Subject line must read Davis Article Award.

Self-nominations are welcome.

Nominations must be sent by January 1, 2020

Receipt will be confirmed within four business days (if you do not receive a confirmation within four days, please contact Brett Spencer at 610-396-6261).

Read More

Posted: November 18, 2019
Tagged: Awards and Prizes

Upcoming Nineteenth Century Studies Association Deadlines

DEADLINE: January 15, 2020

NCSA has several upcoming deadlines for awards and prizes, including the following:

  • Emerging Scholars Award, due July 1, 2019 to Diana Polley: emergingscholarsncsa@gmail.com
  • NCSA Article Prize, due July 1, 2019 to Christine Roth: articleprizencsa@gmail.com 
  • International Travel Award, due December 1st to the conference organizers: ncsa2020@gmail.com
  • Student Travel Grant and Scheuerle-Zatlin International Travel Grant, both due December 1st to the conference organizers: ncsa2020@gmail.com
  • NCSA Faculty Development Travel Award, due January 15th to the conference organizers: ncsa2020@gmail.com

Read More

Posted: June 18, 2019
Tagged: Grants, Awards and Prizes