OAH 2015 Awards

April 22, 2015

OAH Annual Meeting

The OAH sponsors and co-sponsors dozens of awards, grants, and fellowships annually. Here are the 2015 winners, announced at the Annual Meeting awards ceremony on April 18. For pictures and commentary from the ceremony, check out our Storify of tweets from the event.

Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize in U.S. Women’s and/or Gender History
Lisa Marguerite Tetrault, Carnegie Mellon University, The Myth of Seneca Falls: Memory and the Women’s Suffrage Movement, 1848-1898

Stanton-Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History
National Underground Railroad Network to Freedom

Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award
Thomas Bender, New York University

Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award
The Late Michael B. Katz, University of Pennsylvania

Friend of History Award
Colin G. Campbell, Chairman Emeritus, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation

Frederick Jackson Turner Award
Allyson Hobbs, Stanford University, A Chosen Exile: A History of Racial Passing in American Life

Lawrence W. Levine Award
Allyson Hobbs, Stanford University, A Chosen Exile: A History of Racial Passing in American Life

Merle Curti Award (Social History)
Cornelia H. Dayton, University of Connecticut, and Sharon V. Salinger, University of California, Irvine, Robert Love’s Warnings: Searching for Strangers in Colonial Boston

Merle Curti Award (Intellectual History)
Kyle G. Volk, University of Montana, Moral Minorities and the Making of American Democracy

Ray Allen Billington Prize
Jared Farmer, Stony Brook University, SUNY, Trees in Paradise: A California History

Avery O. Craven Award
Edward E. Baptist, Cornell University, The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism

James A. Rawley Prize
Daniel Berger, University of Washington, Bothell, Captive Nation: Black Prison Organizing in the Civil Rights Era

Willi Paul Adams Award
Jürgen Martschukat, Erfurt University

Ellis W. Hawley Prize
Alan McPherson, University of Oklahoma, The Invaded: How Latin Americans and Their Allies Fought and Ended U.S. Occupations

Liberty Legacy Foundation Award
N. D. B. Connolly, Johns Hopkins University, A World More Concrete: Real Estate and the Remaking of Jim Crow South Florida

Darlene Clark Hine Award
Karsonya Wise Whitehead, Loyola University Maryland, Notes from a Colored Girl: The Civil War Pocket Diaries of Emilie Frances Davis

David Montgomery Award
Chantal Norrgard, Independent Scholar, Seasons of Change: Labor, Treaty Rights, and Ojibwe Nationhood

Lerner-Scott Prize
Jessica Wilkerson, University of Mississippi, “Where Movements Meet: From the War on Poverty to Grassroots Feminism in the Appalachian South,” (Ph.D. diss., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 2014).

Louis Pelzer Memorial Award
Christopher M. Florio, Princeton University

Binkley-Stephenson Award
James D. Rice, State University of New York at Plattsburgh, “Bacon’s Rebellion in Indian Country,” Journal of American History 101 (Dec. 2014).

Huggins-Quarles Award
Nancy O. Gallman, University of California, Davis

Huggins-Quarles Award
Farina King, Arizona State University

Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau Teacher of the Year Award
Frank M. Cafarella, Cosgrove Middle School

Erik Barnouw Award
The Roosevelts: An Intimate History, a co-production of Florentine Films and WETA Washington D.C.
Director: Ken Burns
Producers: Paul Barnes, Pam Tubridy Baucom, and Ken Burns

Japan Residencies
Kevin C. Murphy, University of the Sciences [Kobe University]
Greg Robinson, Université du Québec À Montréal [Waseda University]

Japanese students coming to meeting as part of the Japan residencies program:
Satomi Minowa, University of Delaware
Atsuko Shigesawa Oikawa, American University
Yushi Yamazaki, University of Southern California

Germany Residency at the University of Tübingen
James D. Rice, State University of New York at Plattsburgh

China Residencies at Renmin University
Thomas H. Cox, Sam Houston State University
Julia L. Foulkes, The New School
Raúl A. Ramos, University of Houston

Chinese scholars coming to meeting and hosted at U.S. university after:
Hu Xiaojin, China University of Political Science and Law [Penn Program on Democracy, Citizenship, and the Constitution, University of Pennsylvania, and the National Constitution Center]
Li Wenshuo, Shanghai Normal University, [Hunter College, City University of New York]
Ouyang Zhencheng, Northeast Normal University [University of California, San Diego]

OAH-IEHS John Higham Travel Grants
Preston S. McBride, University of California, Los Angeles
Daniel Morales, Columbia University
Adrienne A. Winans, Ohio State University

Samuel and Marion Merrill Graduate Student Travel Grants
Gregory Ablavsky, University of Pennsylvania Law School
Delia Fernández, Ohio State University
Amanda Hughett, Duke University
William S. Kiser, Arizona State University
Claire H. Rydell, Stanford University

President’s Travel Fund for Emerging Historians
William Gow, University of California, Berkeley
Alyssa M. Ribeiro, University of California, Los Angeles
Heather Sinclair, University of Texas, El Paso
Tao Wei, Stony Brook University, SUNY
Gene Zubovich, University of California, Berkeley