OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Binkley-Stephenson Award













The Binkley-Stephenson Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians for the best article that appeared in the Journal of American History during the preceding calendar year (March, June, September, December issues).

William C. Binkley was president of the OAH 1944–1946 and editor of the Journal of American History 1956–1963. Wendell H. Stephenson was president of the OAH 1957–1958 and editor of the Journal of American History 1946–1953.

Binkley-Stephenson Award Committee

Deirdre Cooper Owens, Queens College, CUNY (Committee Chair)
Sarah E. Cornell, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Frank A. Guridy, Columbia University

The final decision will be made by the Binkley-Stephenson Award Committee by February 2019. The award will be presented at the 2019 OAH Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 4–6. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. By submitting an article for publication, the author agrees to OAH’s use of their data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. Please see privacy policy at: ​http://www.oah.org/about/privacy/​.

List of Past Winners