Ellis W. Hawley Prize

The deadline has passed. Information on the 2020 prize will be available summer 2019.


The Ellis W. Hawley Prize is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the best book-length historical study of the political economy, politics, or institutions of the United States, in its domestic or international affairs, from the Civil War to the present. The prize honors Ellis W. Hawley, Emeritus Professor of History, University of Iowa, an outstanding historian of these subjects.

Eligible works shall include book-length historical studies, written in English. Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018.

The prize will be presented at the 2019 OAH Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 4–6.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2019 Ellis W. Hawley Prize Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2018.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2018 and before January 1, 2019. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received by committee members and postmarked no later than January 7, 2019. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Ellis W. Hawley Prize Committee by February 2019. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. By applying for this prize, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. ​Read our privacy policy here​.

Ellis W. Hawley Prize Committee

Sam Lebovic (Committee Chair)
George Mason University
Department of History and Art History, Robinson B Room 359
4400 University Drive, 3G1
Fairfax VA 22030

Matthew Garcia
Dartmouth College
Department of Latin American, Latino, and Caribbean Studies
202 Raven House
Hanover NH 03755-18042

Kenneth R. Janken
University of North Carolina
Department of African, African American, and Diaspora Studies
Battle Hall, CB# 3395
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3395

Jennifer Klein
Yale University
Department of History
McClellan Hall
1037 Chapel Street
New Haven CT 06520

Jason Sokol
University of New Hampshire
Department of History
Horton Social Science Center
20 Academic Way
Durham NH 03824


List of Past Winners