OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Huggins-Quarles Award


Named for Benjamin Quarles and Nathan Huggins, two outstanding historians of the African American past, the Huggins-Quarles Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to one or two graduate students of color to assist them with expenses related to travel to research collections for the completion of the PhD dissertation. These awards were established to promote greater diversity in the historical profession.

Requirements of Applicants
• applicant must be ABD
• applicant must be ALANA (African American, Latino/a, Asian American, Native American) scholar
• applicant's dissertation must focus on U.S. history
• U.S. residency is not required

Application Procedures

To apply, the student should submit the following items in one PDF document and in the following order:

• cover letter, which should also indicate the candidate's progress on the dissertation, including ABD status

• CV

• abstract: a five-page dissertation proposal (double spaced), which should include a definition of the project, an explanation of the project's significance and contribution to the field, and a description of the most important primary sources

• a one-page itemized budget explaining travel and research plans

The deadline for submissions is December 3, 2018.

Each application must include a letter from the dissertation adviser attesting to the student's status and the ways in which the Huggins-Quarles Award will facilitate the completion of the dissertation project. Advisers should e-mail their letters separately to the committee chair. The committee considers only candidates who are ABD or who will be ABD at the time of the award and whose focus is on U.S. history.

For advice on how to develop a strong proposal, see "Preparing a Successful Grant or Fellowship Application," OAH Newsletter (August 2009), pp. 7, 14: http://sites.nationalacademies.org/cs/groups/pgasite/documents/webpage/pga_052526.pdf

One complete copy of each application (including cover letter, CV, abstract, and budget), clearly labeled "2019 Huggins-Quarles Award Entry," must be e-mailed (PDF) directly to the committee chair listed below. The chair must receive all applications and letters from advisers by midnight (PST) on December 3, 2018. The final decision will be made by the Huggins-Quarles Award Committee by February 2019. The award will be presented at the 2019 OAH Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 4–6. All recipients are expected to attend and present their work at the 2020 OAH Annual Meeting. By applying for this award, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. Please see privacy policy at: ​http://www.oah.org/about/privacy/​.

Send applications to:
Lauren Araiza, Denison University (Committee Chair)

Huggins-Quarles Award Committee
Lauren Araiza, Denison University (Committee Chair)
Mekala Audain, The College of New Jersey
Jerry Gonzalez, University of Texas at San Antonio
Mary Ting Li Lui, Yale University
Michael Witgen, University of Michigan


List of Past Winners