Lawrence W. Levine Award

The deadline has passed. Information on the 2020 award will be available summer 2019.



The Lawrence W. Levine Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the best book in American cultural history. Lawrence W. Levine was president of the OAH 1992–1993.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018.

The award will be presented at the 2019 OAH Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 4–6.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2019 Lawrence W. Levine Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2018.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2018 and before January 1, 2019. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be sent to each committee member postmarked no later than January 7, 2019. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Lawrence W. Levine Award Committee by February 2019. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. By applying for this award, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. ​Read our privacy policy here​.

Lawrence W. Levine Award Committee

Jonathan M. Chu (Committee Chair)
University of Massachusetts Boston
Department of History
McCormack Hall 4-629
100 Morrissey Boulevard
Boston MA 02125-3393

Cynthia Blair
712 Wisconsin Avenue
Oak Park, IL 60304
[Affiliation: University of Illinois at Chicago]

Susan J. Matt
Weber State University
Department of History, Mail Code 1205
Ogden UT 84408-1205

Anthony Mora
University of Michigan
Department of American Culture
3767 Haven Hall
505 South State Street
Ann Arbor MI 48109

Heather Murray
C/O Lee Watroba
Austen Riggs Center
25 Main Street
Stockbridge MA 01262
[Affiliation: University of Ottawa]


List of Past Winners