OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Merle Curti Intellectual History Award

The deadline has passed. Information on the 2020 award will be available summer 2019.


One award is given annually to the author of the best book in American intellectual history. Merle Curti was president of the OAH 1951–1952.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018.

The award will be presented at the 2019 OAH Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 4–6.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled "2019 Merle Curti Intellectual History Award Entry," must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2018.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2018 and before January 1, 2019. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received by each committee member postmarked no later than January 7, 2019. (Please see "Submission Policy" at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Merle Curti Intellectual History Award Committee by February 2019. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. By applying for this award, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. Please see privacy policy at: ​http://www.oah.org/about/privacy/​.

Members of the Merle Curti Intellectual History Award Committee

Susanna Blumenthal (Committee Chair)
University of Minnesota
Law School
229 19th Avenue South
Minneapolis MN 55455

Daniel Immerwahr
Northwestern University
Department of History
1881 Sheridan Road
Evanston IL 60208

Kyle G Volk
University of Montana
Department of History
32 Campus Drive
Missoula MT 59812


List of Past Winners