Organization of American Historians (OAH) James A. Rawley Prize

The deadline has passed. Information on the 2020 prize will be available summer 2019.


The James A. Rawley Prize is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the best book dealing with the history of race relations in the United States. The prize is given in memory of Professor James A. Rawley, Carl Adolph Happold Professor of History Emeritus at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018.

The award will be presented at the 2019 OAH Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 4–6.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2019 James A. Rawley Prize Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 1, 2018.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2018 and before January 1, 2019. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below postmarked no later than January 7, 2019. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the James A. Rawley Prize Committee by February 2019. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. By applying for this prize, you are agreeing to OAH’s use of your data however it is needed in the normal course of business if selected as winner or honorable mention. ​Read our privacy policy here​.

James A. Rawley Prize Committee

Mario Sifuentez (Committee Chair)
University of California, Merced
School of Social Sciences, Humanities, and the Arts
5200 North Lake Drive
Merced CA 95340

Kimberly Fain
Texas Southern University
3100 Cleburne Avenue
English Department, MLK Suite 107
Houston TX 77004

Winston Grady-Willis
Portland State University
School of Gender, Race, and Nations
150 Parkmill Building (PKM)
1633 SW Park Avenue
Portland OR 97201


List of Past Winners