OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

Call for Entries: SHFG Thomas Jefferson Prize

The Society for History in the Federal Government (SHFG) seeks entries for its 2017 Thomas Jefferson Prize for documentary histories published in 2015 or 2016. The prize recognizes the editor(s) of a single volume or one or more volumes in a project that contributes significantly to the understanding of the history of the federal government. It will be awarded at the SHFG annual meeting in Spring 2017. See www.shfg.org for a list of past winners and general requirements for all SHFG prizes.

In addition to the general requirements, entries for the 2017 Jefferson Prize will be judged on the editorial methodology employed, including accuracy of transcription, relevance and usefulness of annotation, selection and arrangement of documents, and indexing. Electronic documentary editions will also be evaluated for solid technological capabilities and performance, high quality of design, and innovative strategies or techniques.

A copy of each entry with a letter briefly stating its qualifications and merits should be sent to each of the Jefferson Committee members by November 30, 2016:

  1. Jennifer Ross-Nazzal, Ph.D., 2003 Seakale Lane, Houston, TX 77062
  2. Alisa Whitley, 5212 Leeward Lane, Alexandria, VA 22315
  3. Lincoln Bramwell, Ph.D., 313 Mapleton Court, Fort Collins, CO 80526

The SHFG, founded in 1979, is a nonprofit professional organization that promotes the study and broad understanding of the history of the United States Government. It also serves as the voice of the Federal historical community. The Thomas Jefferson Prize commemorates the third president of the United States and the author of the Declaration of Independence. Jefferson was a firm believer in the study of history and the preservation of historical records.

Posted: September 7, 2016
Tagged: Awards and Prizes