OAH Home Donate to OAH Join the OAH

Programs & Resources

SHFG Henry Adams and George Pendleton Awards

To encourage excellence in the broad field of the history of the U.S. federal government, each year the Society for History in the Federal Government awards two prizes for books published during the previous calendar year.

The Henry Adams Award recognizes an outstanding book on some aspect of federal government history written by an author who is not employed by the government. The George Pendleton Award recognizes an outstanding history written by a current or former federal government historian or sponsored by a government history office.

The deadline for submission is November 30, 2016. The committee accepts late-year publications if bound page proofs are submitted and a finished copy is submitted subsequently. The awards will be presented at the Society annual meeting in Washington, D.C. on April 13, 2017. More detailed requirements for each award are available at www.shfg.org.

Please send a copy of the entry with a letter briefly stating the books qualifications and merits to each of the Adams/Pendleton Awards Committee members by November 30, 2016.

1. Mark A. Bradley, 3607 North 22nd Street, Arlington, VA 22207
2. Dr. Marilyn Parr, 9605 Brunett Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20901
3. Dr. Richard McCulley, 319 D Street, SE, Washington, D.C. 20003

For More Information: http://www.shfg.org

Posted: September 20, 2016
Tagged: Awards and Prizes