News in American History

Awards and Prizes

This section announces competitions for awards and prizes within the field of US history. Please submit your announcement using this form.

AEJMC’s History Division Covert Award Call

Covert Award Call:

AEJMC's History Division announces the 35th annual competition for the Covert Award in Mass Communication History.

The $500 award will be presented to the author of the best mass communication history article or essay published in 2018. Book chapters in edited collections also may be submitted.

The award was endowed by the late Catherine L. Covert, professir of public communications at Syracuse University and former head of the History Division.

An Eletronic copy in pdf form of the published article/essay/chapter should be submitted via email to Professor Sheila Webb,

The deadline for submission is March 1, 2019.

The publication may be self-submitted or submitted by others, such as an editor or colleague.

Posted: February 18, 2019
Tagged: Awards and Prizes

Call for Graduate Student Submissions in Louisiana History

Call for Graduate Student Prize Submissions: The Hugh F. Rankin Prize is awarded by the Louisiana Historical Association each year to the graduate student in history who submits the best unpublished article-length essay in Louisiana history or a related topic. Applicants must be enrolled in an accredited graduate program at either the M.A. or Ph.D. level, and the essay must be based on original research and must have been completed during 2018. Part-time graduate students are eligible.

The award will be a cash prize, to be presented at the banquet of the LHA’s annual meeting ( The winning essay will be considered for publication in the LHA journal Louisiana History.

The deadline for submission is March 1, 2019.

Please send submissions to: Dr. Michael S. Martin, Managing Editor, Louisiana Historical Association:

For further information, click here>>

Posted: January 10, 2019
Tagged: Awards and Prizes

Call for Nominations: SHFG 2019 John Wesley Powell Prize (Historical Display Projects)

The Society for History in the Federal Government's John Wesley Powell Prize for Historic Preservation and Historical Display annually honors distinction by an individual or principal collaborators for a single historical display/interpretation project, or historic preservation project completed in the last two years. The award is given for any form of interpretive historical presentation including, but not limited to, museum exhibits, interpretive media products, or programs; or to any project involving the preservation of records, artifacts, buildings, historical sites, and other historical entities. The prize rotates annually between projects of historical display/interpretation (awarded in odd years) and those of historic preservation (awarded in even years). The deadline for the current call for historical display projects is November 16, 2018.

The Powell Prize commemorates the explorer and federal administrator whose work demonstrated early recognition of the importance of historic preservation and historical display.


The prize will be conferred on a project created by any agency or unit of the federal government. Nongovernmental organizations, including federal contractors, who performed eligible activities on behalf of a unit of the federal government will also be considered. Projects may be renominated, as long as the renomination includes a description of any updates since the original nomination.

Eligible projects include, but are not limited to, the following:

Historical Display/Interpretation (odd years)
• Exhibits – in museums, cultural centers, and other public venues;
• Public Interpretive Programs – lecture series, walking tours, oral history projects, outreach activities, educational offerings, workshops, etc.;
• Major Initiatives – anniversary projects, agency initiatives, commemorative projects

For futher information, click here>>

Posted: October 16, 2018
Tagged: Awards and Prizes

NCPH Award Program

NCPH awards recognize excellence in the diverse ways public historians apply their skills to the world around us. The purpose of the award program is to promote professionalism and best practices among public historians and to raise awareness about their activities.

Submissions for the Book Award and Kelley Award are due November 1; the Outstanding Public History Project Award, New Professional Award, Excellence in Consulting, and Robinson Prize for Historical Analysis are due December 1; and student awards are due January 1.

Help us acknowledge extraordinary work by nominating yourself or a colleague.

for a full list of awards and submission details, click here>>

Posted: October 16, 2018
Tagged: Awards and Prizes

Vernacular Architecture Forum Catherine W. Bishir Prize

Does your work contribute to the study of vernacular architecture and cultural landscapes? Have you published a scholarly article on the subject in the last two years? You may be eligible for the Bishir Prize from the Vernacular Architecture Forum.

The 2019 Bishir Prize, named for longtime VAF member and influential scholar Catherine W. Bishir, will be awarded to the scholarly article published in a juried North American publication between January 1, 2017 and December 31, 2018 that has made the most significant contribution to the study of vernacular architecture and cultural landscapes. Articles considered for the prize should be based on primary research, break new ground in interpretation or methodology, and contribute to the intellectual vitality of these fields. Entries may come from any discipline concerned with vernacular architecture studies.

Please note that essays published as chapters in a book are also eligible if the volume is peer-reviewed, published within the time parameters specified, and the research presented in the essay is new. Anthologized collections are not eligible.

The deadline for nominations for the 2019 Bishir Prize is February 1, 2019.

To nominate an article please submit the following:
• MS Word document providing contact information, publication data (name of book publishing company or title of journal, and date of publication), and a brief statement contextualizing the author(s) and article.
• PDF copy of the article.

Nomination materials should be submitted to Dr. Margaret Grubiak at

For further information, Click here>>

Posted: September 28, 2018
Tagged: Awards and Prizes