REMINDER: The American Historian is introducing a new section that will highlight various achievements of OAH members. Clio’s Kudos already appears on OAH Insights and in the e-newsletter, but we’re expanding it to include a broader list of achievements. A non-exhaustive list of accomplishments we want to share include:
  • Book publications
  • Article publications
  • Tenure and promotions
  • Teaching awards
  • Professional awards
  • Job appointments (including visiting professorships, secondary education positions, and adjunct positions)
To have your achievement appear in this section, please email us at and include a brief description of your achievement, name, and professional affiliation. While we will try our best to accommodate everyone in a timely fashion, you may have to wait a few issues for your achievement to appear.

The American Historian would like to give “kudos” to the following OAH members:

Keisha N. Blain Join’s the University of Pennsylvania Press Editorial Board of the Press’ Distinguished Book Series
The University of Pennsylvania Press recently announced that Keisha N. Blain, associate professor of History at the University of Pittsburgh and president of the African American Intellectual History Society, has joined the editorial board of the press’ distinguished book series “Politics and Culture in Modern America.” Books in the series examine political and social change in the broadest dimensions from 1865 to the present, including ideas about the ways people have sought and wielded power in the public sphere and the language and institutions of politics at all levels. Blain will edit the series with Margot Canaday, Matthew Lassiter, Stephen Pitti, and Thomas J. Sugrue.
Abraham Hoffman wins Westerners International Fred Olds Award
Abraham Hoffman was announced as the first-place winner for the Westerners International Fred Olds Award for Best Cowboy Poetry, 2018. The poems were, “Tin Horn Gambler,” “Laments of a Western Alcoholic,” and “Dance Hall Girls.”
The Fred Olds Poetry Award recognizes outstanding contemporary cowboy poetry in the tradition of Badger Clark, S. Omar Barker, and other great western poets. First place includes a plaque, certificate, and monetary award of $100.
Robert F. Jefferson Receives Fulbright U.S. Scholar Award
The U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board are pleased to announce that Robert F. Jefferson of the University of New Mexico has received a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program award to Denmark in American History. Jefferson will teach at the University of Southern Denmark as part of a project titled “Becoming Transnational Americans: Race and Citizenship in the Twentieth Century United States Military” that explores the creation and development of the United States’ military’s naturalization programs during the First and Second World Wars.
Dr. Jefferson is one of over 800 U.S. citizens who will teach, conduct research, and/or provide expertise abroad for the 2019–2020 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement, as well as record of service and demonstrated leadership in their respective fields.
Mart Stewart Publishes a Volume on Environmental History
Springer Scientific recently published a volume Mart Stewart co-edited (with Peter Coclanis), Water and Power: Environmental Governance and Strategies for Sustainability in the Lower Mekong Basin (2019). This volume includes several essays, including one by Professor Stewart, that are environmental history, but is also a template for interdisciplinary attention to a particular set of environnental problems.